School Board Member Day - November 16, 2022
School Board Member Day - November 15, 2022
Posted on 11/09/2022
School Board Member Day - November 15, 2022


Rockton, Ill. (November 16, 2022) – November 15, 2022, marks the official statewide observance of School Board Members Day in Illinois. Each year, this day is an opportunity to show support for your board of education and the individual school board members who are committed to providing a local voice for your educational decisions.  
School Board Members Day is an occasion to recognize board members who serve as unpaid volunteers for the benefit of the students and the community. They act as the front-line education advocates providing a local voice for the district by putting in place the educational priorities of area residents.
School board members are your neighbors, friends, co-workers and parents. They are also our advocates fighting for quality educational opportunities for every student. Board members craft a vision, mission, and develop goals that are expressed to them by community parents and residents. They are the advocates we have elected to provide our voice in public school systems. 
But board members are only one piece of a partnership that works in tandem with the district administration, parents, community leaders, teachers, students, and other public education advocates to create quality learning opportunities for each and every student. This partnership ensures that every child has the resources to be successful and achieve their dreams.

School board members more than any other official must listen to the voices of their community to help formulate and support a vision for their district.  Quality educational opportunities are a necessity of successful communities. High quality public schools drive the local economy and promote growth within the community. The leadership shown by board members impacts not only the school district but most importantly enhances the lives of every resident.

Our thanks to the Hononegah Board of Education:  
David Kurlinkus, President
Mary Lewis, Vice President
Bob Geddeis, Secretary
Eric Flohr
Jim Minard
Gayle Haab
Evan Schoepski 


To View Full Press Release Click Here